Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

It seems like lately the trend at some of our get togethers with friends is pulled pork sandwiches. They are easy to prepare and all the work can be done before anyone arrives.

 

I like them a lot, but I wanted to try something a little different. Enter the pulled chicken sandwich. These were so easy to make – (thank you slow-cooker), and a nice alternative to pulled pork, but still very similar.  

I made these for the party and I don’t think that one person actually had a sandwich. I had one as leftovers the other day and it was great. I topped it off with Thomas Keller’s Coleslaw. Yummy!

I will do these again for sure. I found the recipe from the Chasing Tomatoes blog.

2 1/2 pounds of boneless, skinless, chicken thighs
1/2 chopped onion
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup BBQ Sauce
1/2 cup ketchup
1 Tbsp cider vinegar
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp hot pepper flakes
1 1/2 Tbsp brown sugar

Put everything in a crock pot, cover, and cook on low for about 7-8 hours. Mine was finished in 7 hours. Take out the chicken and shred with two forks, toss with more BBQ sauce until it seems well coated and moistened.

 

This entry was posted in Recipes, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

  1. Jenny says:

    Blake had a sandwich!

  2. downsally says:

    Mmmm… the last time I made pulled pork I ate it for the next four meals. And I was sad when it was gone. I will for sure try with chicken next time.

Leave a Reply

