Flatbread Pizzas

 

Yesterday morning I met my sister and her children at Coffee and Scream – it is a kids play area that serves coffee for the parents. I was envisioning the worst – kids puking on me, climbing all over me, incessant screaming… It was actually a better experience than I thought. There are tables for the parents to sit at and observe the playing. The children have little desire to hang around the tables when there are so many fun toys to play with, creating a nice separation. My visit also gave me a business idea – Wine and Scream. Serve wine instead of coffee, that would make everyone happier. 🙂

After Coffee and Scream we went to Lina’s Italian Market. Love that store, I used to live a couple blocks away and went there all the time, but now I barely ever make it up there. I picked up some pizza dough and thought it would be fun to make a few different types of flatbread pizzas.

I made four kinds:

Prosciutto and Mozzarella – this one is so simple and so good. There’s no sauce, nothing but the dough, meat and cheese.

 

Mushroom and Shallots – I sautéed mushrooms and shallots with butter, oil, garlic and a little bit of balsamic. No sauce and just mozzarella to finish. I drizzled truffle oil to finish it.

 

Prosciutto, Tomato sauce, Tomatoes, Basil, Mozzarella – tomato sauce was made with crushed tomatoes, minced garlic,  salt & pepper

 

Tomatoes, Tomato sauce, Fontina

 

They were all exceptional, Scott’s favorite was the Prosciutto and Mozzarella and mine was the Margarita with prosciutto. The Mushroom was a close second for both of us.

This entry was posted in Mains, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flatbread Pizzas

  1. Lina says:

    Ah! I didn’t know I had an Italian market. What fun! I happened upon smittenkitchen.com a little while back and have become enamoured of her recipes too! My mother said I should tell you to check her out if you haven’t already, haha. I’ll be making your sesame noodles tonight. . . student-based poverty means that all the panty and sauce-based meals I can muster are always a good thing. Hope you’re well Blames! We miss you!

Leave a Reply

