Prime Rib Dinner

Last night I made us a delicious prime rib dinner with mashed potatoes, roasted carrots, parsnips and gravy.

The meat is from Bonton Meat Market –  not cheap but really really good.

At Bonton they will season the meat for you (if you like) and top it with a fat cap. I let it come to room temperature, threw it in the oven at 325 until it was “cooked”. I like my meat rare – so it was far from fully cooked.

I cut up the parsnips and carrots, tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted them in a cast iron skillet for about 1.5 hours at 325 Degrees.

 

A wonderful dinner and I’m looking forward to leftovers tonight and making them into Panini’s tomorrow.

We finally got through the red wedding wine so I’m free to explore different wine now. I picked up this Cabernet Sauvignon at Willow Park on Saturday. It is very nice, great balance and I think it was even under $20.

This entry was posted in Mains, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

