Paprika Chicken

Paprika Chicken

This is a meal I grew up with and it is the ultimate comfort food for me. When I lived alone I would sometimes make a big batch of this at the beginning of the week and eat if for lunch and dinner every day until it ran out. There’s not many foods I can eat for three or more days straight but this dish I cannot grow tired of.

I forgot my camera at work – so no picture this time. Let me paint you a word picture: It looks like a mound of light fluffy mashed potatoes topped with a tomato sauce cut with some sour cream. Mixed in are bits of chicken, mushrooms and onions. Yummy!

Ingredients

8 boneless skinless chicken thighs – cut into bit sized pieces
¼ cup flour
1 tbsp paprika
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1 tbsp (15 mL) vegetable oil
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups sliced mushrooms
1  tbsp (15 mL) paprika
1/4 1tsp (1 mL) salt
1/4 tsp (1 mL) pepper
1 can (19 oz/540 mL) tomatoes, chopped
2  tbsp (25 mL) tomato paste
1 sweet green pepper, diced
1/2  cup (125 mL) light sour cream

Preparation:

Cut chicken into 1-inch (2.5 cm) pieces.

Whisk together flour, paprika, salt and pepper. Toss with chicken until fully coated.

In large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat; brown chicken, in batches. Transfer to plate.

Drain fat from pan; fry onion, green pepper, mushrooms, garlic, paprika, salt and pepper over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until onion is softened, about 5 minutes.

Add tomatoes and tomato paste; bring to boil, stirring and scraping up brown bits from bottom of pan. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.

Return chicken and any juices to pan. Add green pepper; cover and simmer until sauce is thick enough to mound on spoon, about 10 minutes. Stir in Sour cream wam until heated through. Serve with mashed potatoes.

This entry was posted in Mains, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paprika Chicken

  1. Sarah Watt says:

    Low budge– I want pictures! Just Joking, your romancing paints a brilliant picture. This sounds delicious, ‘m going to have to try it! I’ll bet it would be good with a nice peppernata or something? I always think of peppers when I get chicken and paprika together. Great blogging! I’ll be sure to stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

