The Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

Thanksgiving is without a doubt my favourite holiday. I love it because it is all about the food, friends and family. There is no added stresses of presents and shopping and attending 50 different parties in two weeks. Just dinner, that’s it.

Thanksgiving came and went in a flurry this year. I was able to enjoy two fabulous dinners. The first was a friend’s get together at Scott’s house prepared mainly by me. And the second was a family get together at my brother’s place.

 

I am known to be a little excessive at times, most times, all the time – especially when it comes to food. I prepare an meal with someone who can provide the voice of reason,  but this year I was doing this meal on my own and I definitely went overboard.

The menu:

Appetizers:

Baked Brie with Williams Sonoma Cranberry Relish – didn’t make it to the table because the cheese I bought was bad.

Savory Palmiers (Recipe from Barefoot Contessa – Back to Basics)  – Didn’t make it to the table because there was no room in the oven. Served at Nadeau Family Thanksgiving dinner.

Cheese platter – brought by Sarah, looked great, but I didn’t have a chance to try any of it.

Smoked Salmon Crostinis – Smoked Salmon served on a crostini with a cream cheese spread. (cream cheese whipped with shredded onion, horseradish, Dijon mustard and Worcestershire sauce. )

 

Soup:

Tomato Basil soup (recipe from La Madeline’s)

Dinner:

Turkey: I brined the Turkey for 48 hours in a buttermilk and water solution. Brining solution from Williams Sonoma. I thought that the turkey turned out wonderfully. It was so juicy and flavourful I will use that brine again.

Picture 152

Cranberry Sauce: A simple sauce using cranberries, sugar and orange juice.

Picture 151

Mashed potatoes: cooked in chicken stock for added flavour. It was the first time I used my potato ricer – it worked great. There was not one lump to be found.

Stuffing: Turkey Sausage, apple and cranberry stuffing

 Sweet Cabbage: a traditional Czech dish that I grew up with.

Green Bean Casserole: Brought by Andrea – recipe from Paula Dean.

Sweet Potato Medallions: Sweet potatoes sliced thinly, than baked with butter, salt and pepper.

Cauliflower Gratian – from The Barefoot Contessa At Home book. It was delicious, a must repeat.

Apple and pumpkin pie from Costco. They were huge!

I think the meal was great, we had great company and lots of  leftovers!

My Turkey

My Turkey

Blake's Turkey

Blake's Turkey

This entry was posted in Restaurants and Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

