La Madeleine’s Tomato Basil Soup

Tom soup

I was introduced to a wonderful restaurant while on a trip to Dallas, La Madeleine’s. It is a one-of-a-kind restaurant. I describe it as fast French food, which sounds like a pretty big contradiction. They have traditional French fare, like Croque Monsieur, Chicken Friand and Crêpe Romanoff. They serve breakfast, lunch and supper along with specialty coffees, a small selection of wines and everyday non-alcoholic drinks. Unfortunately La Madeleine’s is only in the southern States, so I don’t get the chance to go there very often. I make the most of it when I do get the opportunity.

They serve the best soup I have ever tasted in my life, not a word of a lie. This soup blew me away. I found the recipe online and through reading the ingredients I learned why it was so good – the heavy cream and butter! I only make it for special occasions because it is not friendly to the waistline. Every time I have made it, the reviews have been off the charts. This soup is very easy to make and it is not expensive.

La Madeleine’s Tomato Basil Soup

4 cups tomatoes, peeled, cored and chopped (or 4 cups canned whole tomatoes, crushed)
2 cups tomato juice
2 cups chicken stock
12 to 14 washed fresh basil leaves
1 cup heavy cream
1/4 lb. unsalted butter
1/4 tsp. cracked black pepper
salt to taste

Combine tomatoes, juice/stock in saucepan. Simmer 30 minutes on med. Stirring occasionally.
Meanwhile chiffonade the basil.
Turn off heat and add basil to the soup.
Using an emersion blender blend soup until smooth. You can also blend the soup in a regular blender in small batches if you don’t have an emersion blender.
If you are looking for a very smooth soup, strain. This is not essential.
Return soup to heat, add butter and heavy cream, heat until warm.
Do not bring to a boil.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

