Nino Franco

I love Sparkling Wine. I think my true love started with me meeting Kristine, a great friend from college. She was always game for dressing up for no reason and drinking bubbles. Since then I can’t get enough of the stuff.

I enjoy Processo more often than Champagne, mainly because it is more accessable and I like the taste a bit more.

Prosecco is different from Champagne for a couple reasons, the main one is obviously the regions they are produced in. A bottle of bubbles can only be called Champagne if it is from the Champagne region in France, Prosecco is from Italy.

Both regions use different grapes: Champagne uses Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier and Chardonnay. The classic blend is two thirds red grapes and one third white grapes. Prosecco uses the Prosecco grape.

Champagne’s second fermentation ferments in the wine bottle, a method called Méthode Champenoise. Whereas Prosecco’s second fermentation takes place in stainless steel tanks, this method is called Charmat process. Prosecco’s aging process is less expensive. Wine (if you can even call them that) like Baby Duck just has CO2 injected into it, just like soda pop.

 bubbles

My favourite bottle of bubbles is Nino Franco Rustico. It has  plenty of bubbles and is lightweight on the mouth. The main taste I get from it is apples and citrus.  

       
This wine runs at around $20 a bottle, so it is perfect for everyday drinking. It compliments so many different types of food (I personally think that bubbles go with anything, that is just my opinion, I know to lots of sommeliers I would be wrong) and it even is easy to drink by itself.

Enjoy, you don’t need a special occasion for bubbles anymore!

Nino

This entry was posted in Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

