Tzatziki

Picture 043My favourite meal to bring to work for lunch lately is a tomato, red pepper and cucumber salad with balsamic vinegar and good extra virgin olive oil. A lemon pepper chicken breast with basmati rice and tzatziki. And watermelon for my afternoon snack.

I think it is pointless to buy tzatziki, so I make my own. This is my recipe. I looked at lots of different recipes and took ideas from a bunch of different ones to make something that I really like. I do that with most of my recipes, not so much with baking, but a lot with cooking.

The last time I made tzatziki I used roasted garlic because I didn’t like the sharpness of raw garlic. I was very happy with the results, it still gives you a garlic taste, but it is not sharp like the raw garlic that most recipes call for.

 Picture 044

Tzatziki Recipe

1 tub of Balkan Style Yoghurt drained*
1 English Cucumber shredded
1 TBSP of salt

1 whole bulb of roasted garlic
3 TBSP of White wine vinegar
Zest of half a Lemon
Juice of half a lemon
2 TBSP fresh mint finely chopped
¼ cup dill finely chopped
2 TBSP olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
Drain yogurt using a cheese cloth for a minimum of two hours and up to overnight in the fridge.
Shred cucumber, place is sieve, salt the cucumber and let drain a minimum of two hours and up to overnight in the fridge.

To roast garlic cut off the top of the head, place in tin foil, drizzle with EVOO. Wrap garlic in tin foil. Cook for 35 to 40 minutes in a 400 degree oven.

Make roasted garlic into a puree. (place all bulbs on a cutting board a smash with flat part of the knife).

Place all ingredients in a bowl, mix well, refrigerate for about an hour then enjoy!Picture 045

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

